Admissions data, deadlines, essays, and what this school values, in one place. Updated for the 2026-27 application cycle.
Bucknell's overall admit rate is 28.9%. That number obscures two things that matter more.
First, Bucknell is a genuine hybrid: a residential liberal arts college of roughly 3,920 undergraduates with a fully ABET-accredited College of Engineering ranked 11th nationally among undergraduate engineering programs at schools without doctoral programs (US News 2026). That combination is rare. It shapes who applies, how readers evaluate fit, and what the supplement is expected to do.
Second, Bucknell fills a large share of its class through Early Decision. The combined ED I and ED II admit rate has held between 54% and 56% for five consecutive cycles, against a Regular Decision rate closer to 26%. Applicants who treat Bucknell as an RD safety are competing in a materially tighter pool for the seats that remain after ED.
Every applicant chooses one of three colleges at the point of application: Arts and Sciences, Engineering, or the Freeman College of Management. That choice is a commitment. Transfer into Engineering from another college is explicitly limited, and readers evaluate fit to the chosen college, not just fit to Bucknell.
Academic rigor matched to the intended college. Dean Kevin Mathes has said publicly that academics come first and that readers look for rigor aligned with the intended field. Engineering applicants are expected to have four years of mathematics, chemistry, and physics. Arts and Sciences applicants should show depth in English, history, or language. The course record is the first filter.
A specific reason for your major. Because the application is also a college-placement decision, readers evaluate whether the stated interest is credible. A generic statement of interest that could apply to any school with the same major reads as insufficient. Bucknell's own admissions framing describes the office as looking for students who are passionately in pursuit of their own distinct purpose.
Depth over breadth in activities. Bucknell's holistic review considers extracurricular activities, volunteerism, and service alongside academics. The office has said it values students who have taken their interests seriously over time, not applicants who accumulated activities for a resume. Longitudinal commitment to a named interest reads better than a wide list of titles.
Authentic self-presentation. Dean Mathes has stated that his top advice is to reflect on who you are and what aspects of yourself you most want to communicate. Bucknell was among the first schools to publish an official AI admissions statement. Readers are trained to identify AI-generated essays, and the office has said admissions should remain a fundamentally human process where students tell their own stories in their own voices.
Context and access. Bucknell's holistic review explicitly considers school type, first-generation status, multilingual background, and family responsibilities as context. The university's strategic plan commits to building a diverse community, and the admissions office participates through dedicated access and outreach roles.
Testing is optional. Bucknell extended its test-optional pilot through the 2026-27 cycle. Students who choose not to submit SAT or ACT scores will not have those scores considered. Students who do submit are evaluated within the enrolled mid-50% ranges of 1310 to 1470 SAT and 30 to 33 ACT. Students who enroll without submitting must provide scores before their first year unless they never took the tests.
ED advantage is substantial and documented. The combined ED I and ED II admit rate has held at 54 to 56% for five consecutive cycles against an overall rate of 28.9%. Bucknell's yield rate is modest relative to peers, which makes yield-certain ED commitments a structural priority for the office. The ED advantage is not a rumor; it is a consistent pattern across multiple cycles.
Enrollment has grown for five straight years. The Class of 2029 set a record at 1,040 incoming students from 11,561 applicants, and total enrollment reached a record 3,969. The average high school GPA of the incoming class was 3.58. This growth trajectory suggests the office is absorbing more of the qualified pool rather than tightening the bar.
Engineering fit is evaluated separately. Because transfer into Engineering after admission is limited, engineering applications receive additional scrutiny around academic preparation. A strong overall profile without the expected quantitative coursework does not substitute for college-level math and science readiness.
For 2026-27, Bucknell requires the Common App personal statement and one supplemental essay. The supplement asks applicants to explain their interest in their first-choice major or undecided status, and their second-choice major if they list one. A word limit is not specified in the prompt, but the essay is designed for approximately 250 words and rewards concision.
The brevity is intentional and demanding. Readers are evaluating whether the stated interest is real and whether it connects to Bucknell's specific academic structure. The most effective responses move from a concrete prior experience to a specific claim about what the applicant wants to study and why Bucknell's college structure fits that interest. For engineering applicants, naming the ABET-accredited program, specific departments, or research opportunities within the College of Engineering is the baseline expectation. For management applicants, the Freeman College's distinct identity within a liberal arts setting is the relevant frame.
Because the application is filed to a specific college, a supplement that could apply equally to Lafayette, Lehigh, or any other school with the same major signals that the applicant has not engaged with what makes Bucknell's structure distinctive. Dean Mathes has said the office gets excited about the pieces applicants choose to share. Choosing well, and being specific, matters more than covering everything.
Using the overall admit rate as the RD benchmark. The 28.9% rate blends ED and RD pools. After ED fills the majority of seats, the RD pool compresses to roughly 26% and the competition is stiffer. Strong-stats applicants who apply RD treating Bucknell as a safety are in a different pool than the headline number implies.
Applying to Engineering without the expected preparation. The College of Engineering requires four years of mathematics, chemistry, and physics. A strong overall academic record without that coursework does not clear the fit-to-major bar. Transfer into Engineering after admission is explicitly limited, so readers apply additional scrutiny at the application stage.
Writing a supplement that could describe any school with the same major. Bucknell's hybrid LAC-plus-engineering identity is specific. A supplement that praises the campus, the residential experience, or the major in general terms without engaging Bucknell's three-college structure reads as minimal effort. Readers see this pattern often.
Treating Bucknell as a pure liberal arts college. Bucknell is not Reed, Oberlin, or Kenyon. Its engineering school, Greek life, and pre-professional culture are central to its identity. Applicants whose essays project discomfort with that culture, or who apply because they want a progressive intellectual environment, are likely misreading the school.
Submitting an AI-drafted essay. Bucknell published one of the first official AI admissions statements of any school. Dean Mathes has said readers are trained to identify AI-generated writing. The office permits AI for brainstorming and condensing activity descriptions, but the final submission must be the applicant's own work in their own voice.
Bucknell does not publish per-college admit rates. The three colleges admit at different rates, and selectivity can be inferred from structure and institutional emphasis.
The College of Engineering is the most selective entry point. It is ABET-accredited and ranked 11th nationally among undergraduate engineering programs at schools without doctoral programs (US News 2026). Because transfer in from other colleges is limited, the engineering application carries the highest fit-to-major stakes. Strong quantitative preparation is expected, not optional.
The Freeman College of Management admits directly and has a strong pipeline into finance and business. Selectivity is inferred as above the Arts and Sciences baseline based on pre-professional demand patterns at peer institutions; Bucknell does not publish a separate rate.
The College of Arts and Sciences is the largest college and the baseline for Bucknell's overall selectivity. Per-college admit rates are not disclosed for any of the three colleges. All figures above reflect the 2026-27 cycle structure; no vintage per-college rates are available from Bucknell.
An admit rate describes last cycle's whole applicant pool, not your odds. Your chance at this college depends on how your profile compares with the students it admitted, the round you apply in and the program you choose, which is why the same rate can mean a reach for one applicant and a target for another.
Every college values different qualities. See how your profile aligns, then go as deep as you want.
A calibrated read of your profile for 2 schools. About 2 minutes. No account, no card.
Start your free readThis page is a fraction of what we know about this school. The Audit applies the full knowledge base to your profile: strengths, gaps, and an action plan for each college you pick.
Get your Profile AuditInsights and strategy for your customized list of up to 15 colleges, all season. Fresh insights every week. First month free.
Explore Admit-MeFacts verified for the 2026-27 cycle. Chance-Me is independent and not affiliated with any college or university. Admit rates and ranges are the most recent figures published by the institution or government sources; older figures are labeled with their vintage.